13 Replies Latest reply on Mar 30, 2010 9:50 AM by WebAppEngineer

OSMF Metadata: setting persistent KeyValueFacets?

blueberrykefir

I'm fairly new to the wonderful world of OSMF, but I've hit a slight snag and I hope that someone could help me with my questions.

There is a MetadataSample example that can be used to set various OSMF metadata KeyValueFacet values.

And there's a MetadataVideoSample example that sets a KeyValueFacet value inside the application itself.

However, I'd need to know how one can, using OSMF, set metadata values in one OSMF/Flash application and read them in another OSMF/Flash application, if possible.

Thanks in advance!

• 1. Re: OSMF Metadata: setting persistent KeyValueFacets?
          bringrags Level 4

Much has changed with how metadata is modeled in OSMF, so I'd highly recommend you upgrade to the Sprint 10 release.  (For one thing, the two samples you mention have been removed, and there are no longer any "facet" classes.)

Also, can you describe in more detail what you're trying to do?  You mention passing metadata values from one app to another, but what is the metadata you'd like to pass, and how does the second app respond to it?

• 2. Re: OSMF Metadata: setting persistent KeyValueFacets?
            blueberrykefir Level 1

Thanks for the help! (Yes, I've changed my forum name.)

This is what I want to do:

When I play an flv file, a plugin is loaded that looks for specific metadata tags.

If found, the plugin will then send the metadata and the current time position for the flv file being played to another Flash application or, failing that, in another part of the application.

You wouldn't know which example I should look at?

Thanks in advance!

• 3. Re: OSMF Metadata: setting persistent KeyValueFacets?
              bringrags Level 4