22 Replies Latest reply on Mar 11, 2010 4:12 PM by kentRda

Difference between Encore and Premiere Pro

kentRda

Hello, I am new to Premiere Pro. Prior to this time, I have been down in the Premiere Elements class.  In Elements, Premiere does everything - from the initial media import to the burning/publishing of a disk.    As I look at Premier Pro though, it looks as though I must move back and forth between Encore and Premier - in order to get everything done. Is that true?   Looking at both Encore and Premiere, each of them look very similar.. Both have timelines. Both allow the importing of assets, etc.   Thus, I need a little bit of help understanding the differences between Encore and Premiere and knowing when I should use each program.   I would deeply appreciate it if someone could help me with that. Thank so much!

Kent

• 1. Re: Difference between Encore and Premiere Pro
          WAHunt3 Level 1

PrE is both an NLE (Non Linear Editor) and a rudimentary authoring program, that does this process semi-automatically.

PrPro is JUST an NLE. Encore is JUST an authoring app., but is full-featured, and very powerful. With that power and control, comes much more hand-work. An authoring program gets one's AV files into a form that will work in a DVD-Video, or BD (or Flash). PrPro edits those AV files, before one gets them into Encore.

Hope that this helps,

Hunt

• 2. Re: Difference between Encore and Premiere Pro
            kentRda Level 1

Wow Bill. You reside on both the Pro and Elements forums.  I'm impressed!  How do you get time for anything else!?

So, if I understand correctly, in Pro, I initially bring my assets into Premiere, and edit and organize in Premiere. However, once that is done, I transfer the assets/project to Encore so that I can publish it do disk, or wherever I want.   Am I thinking correctly.

Thanks,

Kent

• 4. Re: Difference between Encore and Premiere Pro
              the_wine_snob Level 9

Kent,