4 Replies Latest reply on Mar 30, 2010 7:05 AM by the_wine_snob

Is it possible to put a slideshow and movie extracts on the same DVD?

IAN JULIAN Level 1

I use and am delighted with Elements 6 and will continue to do so for

slideshows set to music.  Being a wedding photographer, I also do

a DVD with movie extracts - the advantages of the new SLRs

(I currently have Premiere3).

Is it possible with Adobe programs or maybe another program, or some other method, to have both of these projects on the same DVD, with 2 different files to open on a TV screen?

Thank you,

Ian Julian

www.natureandpictures.com

• 1. Re: Is it possible to put a slideshow and movie extracts on the same DVD?
          nealeh Level 5

In PRE7 you create an additional button on the Main Menu by adding a 'Main Menu' marker at the start of the clip to the timeline (this marker type is Blue). To force a return to the Main Menu add a 'Stop' marker to the end of the clip (this marker type is Red).

Also note that some templates only allow you to add one additional button to the Main Menu. In these cases adding more than one menu marker will create a secondary Main Menu screen. The example below, as you can see, allows two additional buttons.

Wedding example 1.png

The PRE Disc Menu options are quite simplistic. For anything more you will need to use dedicated menu authoring software. Bill Hunt uses Adobe Encore for his DVD Menus, but this is only bundled with the Adobe Creative Suite. Steve Grisetti likes Sony DVD Architect and has produced some free tutorials on it at muvipix.com.

Cheers,
          --
          Neale
          Insanity is hereditary, you get it from your children

• 2. Re: Is it possible to put a slideshow and movie extracts on the same DVD?
            IAN JULIAN Level 1

Thank you for that infomation, but I am new to Premiere, a

book I ordered has not materalised, and I am unable to do this.  This is my main project for the year, so would like to master it.