7 Replies Latest reply on Mar 13, 2010 1:17 PM by mjelsner

[CS4-vb]Relinking slowness

mjelsner96

I have a script that I have been using (or a similiar version) for a couple years now and for some reason on some computers the time it takes to relink text files takes forever.  Let me give an example(these machines have similiar specs), one machine relinks 1200+ files in about 2-3 minutes.  The other machine takes in the neighborhood of 20 minutes.  Same code, ID is the same version.  Any ideas on what could be causing this?  The code is below.

For myCounter = 1 To myDocument.Links.Count
                  myLink = myDocument.Links.Item(myCounter)
                  If myLink.Status = idLinkStatus.idLinkMissing Or myLink.Status = idLinkStatus.idLinkOutOfDate Then
                      FileSource = strFilePath + "\Events\" + myLink.Name
                      If System.IO.File.Exists(FileSource) = True Then
                          relink(myLink, FileSource)
                          'myLink.Update()
                      End If
                  End If
      Next
      Public Sub relink(ByRef oItemLink As Object, ByVal sLinkPath As String)

Dim fso As Object = CreateObject("Scripting.FileSystemObject")
              Dim oLink As Object = fso.getfile(sLinkPath)
              oItemLink.Relink(oLink)

End Sub

Thanks

• 1. Re: [CS4-vb]Relinking slowness
          Kasyan Servetsky Level 5

I don't if it's possible/how to do this in VB, but in JS you can use ESTK's Profile feature to find bottlenecks in scripts.

You can download my Relinking script (similar to yours), open it in ESTK, turn  Profile > Lines and Show Timing on, and test it on different machines.

Kasyan

• 2. Re: [CS4-vb]Relinking slowness
            mjelsner96 Level 1

Kasyan,