11 Replies Latest reply on Mar 16, 2010 12:47 AM by VDOSurfer

PE 8 won't render PE 4 project

bitnerd

I have a project that is just a slide show (all still pictures, no video). I created it in PE4. It had some minor "flickering" issues so I wanted to open in my newly acquired PE 8 and see if the problems went away. I can open the project without problems but when I attempt to render the project, PE 8 does some stuff, but does not show the "frame" indicator or progress bar. "Render Details" shows file names changing, but the Rendering Media progress bar stays at 0%. After some time (30 seconds more or less), the project will begin playing, but transitions are still not smooth. The red line above the work area does not change to green. I have cleared the rendered files out of the project. I'm on most recent Quicktime. My video card is vanilla Intel Graphics. Running on a separate internal 1TB drive. PC is an Intel Quad core processor with 8GB RAM. I have been using PE for many years, and generally have not had issues moving forward. A simple project created in PE 8 does render correctly. I have adjusted I have set preferences/scratch disks so all are in the project directory. So, the question: is there anything that needs to be done to make rendering work on older projects, or shoud I just stick to the older version of PE for those?

• 1. Re: PE 8 won't render PE 4 project
          nealeh Level 5

What are the image sizes of those still photographs?

Cheers,
          --
          Neale
          Insanity is hereditary, you get it from your children

• 2. Re: PE 8 won't render PE 4 project
            Lens48 Level 1

I have the exact same problem, except that I was opening a PE7 project, about 4 minutes long.

This project was originally setup in PE7, and rendered fine in it. But when I open it in PE8, it opens OK, but the render line is red. Tried deleting all render files for ALL projects, and re-render but the red render line doesn't change to green.