31 Replies Latest reply on Mar 15, 2010 6:06 AM by Baz R

NEW EDIT SUITE - ADVICE PLEASE

Capturefilms

Hello,

I need help putting together a new HD edit suite to edit a feature film. I've been using the same (pre built) PC based system for the past five years, but I need to upgrade. I've been doing a bit of research and think I'm nearly there, but I could do with some advice as I'm still a bit unsure on a few points. Thanks in advance for any help offered.

1. My current system has two monitors, plus the option of a third 'graded' output monitor via a Matrox card. I still want the third monitor option and I don't want to do the output via a cam or deck. Am I righ in thinking I need another Matrox or Blackmagic card to get my third graded monitor? If so, will the Blackmagic Intensity Pro do the job or is there a better option? Is it compatible with Premiere CS4? Does anyone know, how many output/inputs there are on it? Ideally, I'd like to out put one (HD) to a graded monitor and another (SD or HD) to a projector, would I need two cards for this?

2. RAM - I keep reading that 4gb or RAM is only effective if you are running on certain versions of windows, namely, 64 bit. Is this true? and if so, how much RAM is recommended. At the minute, I'm thinking about 16gb.

3. Hard Drives - At the minute I have four 250gb WD USB hard drives with all the footage from the film on. They seem to work ok at the minute, despite the fact my system is 6 years old. Is USB fine for HD editing or should I be looking at SATA drives? I want to have external hard drives for everything, and one small (200gb) internal just for programme files.

Finally, I don't need monitors, keyboard, mouse. But I could do with a recommendation of the best components. Not including the price for the Blackmagic/Matorx card or hard drives, I'm looking to spend about £750. Could someone, please recommend the best;

Motherboard

Graphics Card

Processor

RAM

Version of Windows