3 Replies Latest reply on Mar 16, 2010 7:13 AM by douglaseye

Using still photos with Premiere and Photoshop Elements

douglaseye

Hey: I am a newspaper multimedia producer stuck with using Premiere Elements 4.0 in conjunction with Photoshop Elements 3.0 (and, no, the powers-that be won't upgrade me). I have produced a lot of multimedia work with this configuration (see http://wvgazette.com/multimedia) but often get poor quality when I import still photos into my video projects. So, a couple questions:

1/ I think I read on this forum that imported still photos put into Elements after Photshop editing, should be about 1,000 pixels wide and not larger. Is that correct?

2/ Will my stills be less fuzzy online when I open them through Premiere Elements as a .psd file, edit them in Photoshop and them save them to my Project in Elements that way?

3/ If that (or another means) is the way to do it, would I then batch process the 30 or still photos I need for my current project to .psd files of 1,000 pixels wide and then import them one at a time into Elements as Elements .psd files?

I generally export my finished videos from Elements as full-size DV AVI files, then use Adobe's Video Encoder to reduce them to a de-interlaced, Web-site friendly .flv filed sized to 640 by 425, which we then upload atop our stories.Here is a recent Elements multimedia piece which will show the problem I've had with fuzzy still photos. I thought I'd imported these a stills as 1,000 pixels wide, but I had not tried doing anything more than that.

http://www.wvgazettemail.com/Entertainment/201002240544

Any help appreciated.

Douglas

Charleston Gazette

Charleston W.Va.

• 1. Re: Using still photos with Premiere and Photoshop Elements
          Steve Grisetti Adobe Community Professional

Most of the answers -- including how to batch resize -- are in the FAQs to the right of this forum.

http://forums.adobe.com/thread/431851?tstart=0