8 Replies Latest reply on Mar 18, 2010 6:43 PM by el pescado

Flash AIR MP3 Player?

el pescado

Hello,

I posted this under AIR but had no luck in finding an answer.

I am working with an artist who is releasing a new CD.  Is it possible to create an MP3 Player in Flash and distribute it as an AIR app will all songs (say 7-10 tracks) contained in the app?

I believe I read so in Layers Magazine but wasn't sure of the best way to do so.  My thinking was he could email the app as a promotional tool.  But, I am new to AIR.

Thanks.

• 1. Re: Flash AIR MP3 Player?
          kglad Adobe Community Professional & MVP

yes, but you don't really need air for that.  you can create an mp3 player in flash and distribute that (along with the mp3s) so users wouldn't have to install the air runtime.

• 2. Re: Flash AIR MP3 Player?
            el pescado Level 1

Hey Kglad,

Thanks.  Yeah, I was just thinking the AIR app would be a lot cleaner to distribute.  Easy install, uninstall. 

I just wasn't sure if the only way to do it was to import all the tracks (there might be as many as 10) into the Flash file and then use the buttons to control. 

Also, I liked the idea of having a graphic with his name and logo on it on the person's desktop as you launch.  I have seen some of these AIR apps built so that they are dynamic or have live data feeds.  I haven't had a lot of luck finding info on that either.  In other words, if my client had a new CD come out in 6 months and someone already installed the AIR app, we could control the tracks provided dynamically.

Let me know your thoughts.

Thanks.

• 3. Re: Flash AIR MP3 Player?