9 Replies Latest reply on Dec 3, 2007 4:18 AM by Greg Dove

scripting for when all buttons are clicked

Kirstii86
      Im quite new to flash well at least the scripting part of it. I'm much more of a designer and I'm having big problems I know that it is prob very simple but I am totally useless at it! Can some1 please just point me in the right direction thank you xxx
        • 1. Re: scripting for when all buttons are clicked
          Greg Dove Level 4
          You might need to post an example of any code you're currently using, if you have anything currently.
          Also do you know how to do some simple button scripts?
          If not, do your buttons have instance names in the property panel e.g. button1, button2 etc. And do you know how to 'play the message' ( I assume its a movieclip or a sound or something like that) from actionscript once all the buttons are clicked?

Here's an example of a timeline script (on a frame, not attached to a button) that will do something like what you want.

• 2. Re: scripting for when all buttons are clicked
            Kirstii86 Level 1
            hey thank you for that, I have given then instance names (btn_bat, btn_plug, btn_water) on each button I have scripts saying

on (press) {
            gotoAndStop (2);
            }

and different frames for each button.
            • 3. scripting for when all buttons are clicked
              Greg Dove Level 4
              Give this a try.

1.Back up your fla in case you don't like this way of doing things.

2. Delete the on (press) code on each of your buttons, so there's nothing left.

3. Create a new layer. name it actionscript. Put a empty keyframe at the same frame number in the actionscript layer where your buttons are visible on another layer.

4. click on that new keyframe in the actionscript layer. Then open the actions panel. (f9 in windows, don't know mac).

5. Paste the following code in the actions panel.