4 Replies Latest reply on Mar 16, 2010 12:33 PM by nealeh

Workflow?

2ManyImages Level 1

I am new to the video editing world and have a few very basic questions and needs. I'd like to develop and understand some smart workflow standards before spending too much time doing it wrong.

I have two basic needs:

Number 1: I am recording video now with a basic Canon mini-camcorder. I can copy all the files off the SC card or internal memory into a folder on one of my hard drives. Each of them can hold around 8 gigs of raw footage. Of those video image clips, I only really want to store and keep about half or a third of the data. On a Canon, the files are in .MOV format. I'd like to cull or clip the raw footage down to just the keeper clips. Someday, I'd like to build a "best of" from the subject, but for now I am just making small clips for the kids for FaceBook using Premiere Elements 8.0.1.

So, how do you organize daily or weekly new clips, then trim them for long term storage? Is there a tutorial on this subject somewhere?

Number 2: I have a huge pile of old VHS tapes starting from the mid-80s and going several years, mainly of the kids growing up. I have a huge pile of old Hi-8 tapes and another huge pile of Digital 8 tapes. A while back, I bought an LG brand VHS to DVD machine capable of dubbing the old tapes to DVD. (I have another thread dealing with that on this forum). For now, I am just letting the machine dub a two hour DVD from a two hour VHS tape and I at least get something to view. In the long run, I'd like to get the highlight video clips off the tapes and onto my hard drives in digital format and finally onto DVDs with the "best of" clips into something worthy of viewing. I have one of the old Sony camcorders set up to pass through the VHS data and Digital8/Hi8 data to the computer with the firewire connection.