6 Replies Latest reply on Mar 19, 2010 3:12 AM by Opus Maxim

Incredibly poor performance from Premiere Pro + Media Encoder

Opus Maxim

This is, frankly embarrassing.

I was asked to put a series of still images into a video format to be emailed to a client. The video was to be used by the client for a presentation. I spent half a day trying to get acceptable results, some of which were completely unusable. I experimented with different formats and encoders during this time.

Perhaps it's worth stating, for those of you who might be sceptical, that I've been using Premiere for many years and generally know what I'm doing when it comes to these requests.

After seeing the poor results of my attempts, my colleague decided to try using Microsoft Movie Maker. Not only did he achieve the desired results in under 10 minutes but the filesize was substantially smaller and the quality substantially higher.

It puts the Adobe software to shame, especially considering the results below, from the media encoders log (Note the encoding time!):

- Preset Used: PAL Source to Download 1024kbps

- Video: 720x576, 25 [fps]

- Audio:  96 kbps, 48 kHz, stereo VBR

- Bitrate: Compressed, VBR, 2 Pass, Audiences:1, Avg 872.00 [kbps]

- Encoding Time: 00:24:25

17/03/2010 15:34:20 : File Successfully Encoded

I think you'd agree...this is an appalling situation.

• 1. Re: Incredibly poor performance from Premiere Pro + Media Encoder
          Harm Millaard Level 7

Try http://ppbm4.com benchmark and send the results to Bill. It may show how your system performs. (You can send them to me as well by PM.)

FTTB (for the time being) I hold it on OE (operator error).

If you want more feedback, give details: Some suggestions... and answer at least the 16 questions at the end of the Wiki article.

• 2. Re: Incredibly poor performance from Premiere Pro + Media Encoder
            John T Smith Adobe Community Professional & MVP

>series of still images into a video format