10 Replies Latest reply on Mar 18, 2010 10:45 AM by Ned Murphy

newbie in hell...flash cs4 image

vonchookers

Hello everyone,

I must warn you I am an absolute beginner with flash, however am proficient in Illustrator / ps cs4 and now have flash cs4. I have a mountain of graphic work for a client and as part of this welcome work I've inherited a flash header that I need to finish for a website. The only problem is, I usually work in print and know nothing about flash, but would like to tackle this if I can. The inherited header is 980 x 230 with 8 images that fade in/out as they change over each other (morph). It was originally done in flash 10 using tweens but I gather flash has changed a bit with regards to this sort of thing.

I like to learn new things but I have spent HOURS online and just can't find out how to do this. I've had a good look around flash but unfortunately I just can't dedicate days or weeks to learning the entire program.

From what I can gather so far:

The images go into flash library (is jpeg ok or do they have to be BMP) then I need to convert them to symbols then they go into the timeline as layers ...OMG I guess my first question is..is this a fairly simple thing to accomplish or should I look at outsourcing it? I'm pretty good with the teaching myself stuff, but my biggest enemy is time. I've looked at the adobe tv tuts but didn't see anything like what I'm after (the image doesn't need to slide, it just needs to fade into another one).

I'm so buggered, hoping if I get some sleep some kind soul will either be willing to help, or tell me to forget it, either way helping to end my frustration!

Thanks in advance,

A bona fide Flash Dummie...

Lauren

• 1. Re: newbie in hell...flash cs4 image
          Ned Murphy Adobe Community Professional & MVP