Expand my Community achievements bar.

Help tracking the condition of a form

Former Community Member

Hi All

Thank you for viewing my post.

I am a relavtive beginner with Livecycle but have got a reasonable grasp on scripting with javascript etc.

Here's my problem.

I have created an internal order acknowledgement form.

This form is filled in by our internal sales dept, and in the form they indicate the reviews required to process the order e.g. engineering review, operations review, sales review or a combination of them.

They do this via checkboes.

Currently when they submit the form, I have background script that saves the form based on specific information in the form i.e. order number + initals of user + customer name + todays date.pdf on our server (using the trusted application method). After this operation a Mailto command is specified to mail the form to the departments that are ticked.

Each department that is selected for review then has its own comments area and submit button on the form. Once the department has reviewed the order and done whatever work is required for it they simply submit the form which in turn gets saved as order number + initals of user + customer name + todays date + departmentname review completed.pdf, and emails the form back to the order processor.

OK this all works great!!

But it now means I have up to 4 forms being saved for each order, which is OK but now I have been asked to make it more tracable for metrics.

i.e. if a department looks at the folder where the forms are stored can they view quickly the forms requiring their attention.

So I have a few options but not sure how to achieve any of them.

1. - When each file is saved it then deletes the last? - risky because if it is open at hte time on anybodys computer this process wont happen, and I am not sure if it is possible to delete files with javascript through adobe reader?