15 Replies Latest reply on Sep 11, 2007 3:14 PM by Newsgroup_User

What the heck is wrong with AS 3.0?

C-Rock Level 2
      I'm having a whale of a time with rollovers in AS 3.0. In this app:
      RexMap

The bottom buttons are simple movieclips with an up and over state.
      When you rollover and out of them they are very buggy. They have listeners and that is is. myButton.gotoAndPlay("over");

The button to the left of the one with the green arrow. This is for the visible elements on the application. When the pop-up comes up, "MOUSE_OVER" doesn't work at all!!!! Why?

"ROLL_OVER" is extremely buggy. Try it, works maybe half the time.

I've been programming in AS for 5 years and 2.0 was perfect with the rollovers of movieclips. Should I be doing something different, or is this AS 3.0, for now?

Thanks,

C
        • 1. Re: What the heck is wrong with AS 3.0?
          Level 7
          C-Rock,

> The bottom buttons are simple movieclips with an up
          > and over state. When you rollover and out of them
          > they are very buggy.

Not sure what you mean. They look fine to me -- but maybe I'm not
          seeing what you're seeing.

> They have listeners and
          > that is is. myButton.gotoAndPlay("over");

Would you show the full event handler? Let's take a look.

> The button to the left of the one with the green arrow.
          > This is for the visible elements on the application. When
          > the pop-up comes up, "MOUSE_OVER" doesn't work
          > at all!!!! Why?

When I click the icon described, I see a blue swatch appear over most of
          the background.
          That swatch is completely blocking the icon buttons, which blocks their
          events. Give that blue area an instance name and set its
          MovieClip.mouseEnabled and MovieClip.mouseChildren properties to false.

> "ROLL_OVER" is extremely buggy. Try it, works maybe
          > half the time.

I don't know what to say, C-Rock; it works for me consistently.