3 Replies Latest reply on Mar 21, 2010 5:53 PM by Ned Murphy

How do I make a curvy line "draw itself"?

mykstor

I have on stage a drawing of a perfume bottle. I want to have a line of "fragrance" waft up and out of the bottle in curly-cues. I have already made made a guide line, but I don't know how to use tweening to make the line "draw" itself over 70 frames or so starting from nothing until it's completely drawn. I want to keep the line's width the same throughout, like say 2pts. At this point I'm not even trying to make the line sway at all, but of course that would be an additional nice touch...

Anyone have a clue? I'm pretty new at Flash. I have CS3

Thanks in advance for any help!

Mike Storer, an independent perfumer in Los Angeles

michaelstorer.com

• 1. Re: How do I make a curvy line "draw itself"?
          Ned Murphy Adobe Community Professional & MVP

Here's two possible timeline-based approaches but they yield a static result (no sway).  The first may be the faster but will still take a bit of time.

1) Divide the drawn lines into segments and place them on different layers.  For each layer add a layer above it to apply a mask for that segment.  Gradually tween the masks over the pieces in sequence to gradually reveal them.  The segment sizes would be selected based on figuring how much one mask might reasonably reveal with one direction of motion as well as the closness of lines that would not be revealed simultaneously.

2) Frame by frame - start with the fully drawn lines in frame 1 of a movieclip symbol.  Copy frame 1 to frame 2 and remove a small portion of the line(s).  Copy frame 2 to frame 3, remove a little more... continue along frame by frame until there's nothing left.  Then select all the frames, right click the selection and choose Reverse frames from the menu that appears.