8 Replies Latest reply on Mar 22, 2010 8:32 AM by the_wine_snob

Problems with still photo resolution in avi to flv video

douglas eye

Dear forum members: Help needed for a daily newspaper on deadlines! I'm part of a self-taught multimedia crew at the Charleston Gazette in W.Va., and we're up to producing a video a week. Recently, we began adding still photos to our videos and the process has been erratic in terms of resolution online. I've posted here before about this but now I am really confused. I have read Bill Hunt's June 19, 2009 post on  Large Still Images into PE - One Workflow and other things on resolution so please hear me out on this workflow and tell me what we're doing wrong. Alas, we are stuck using Premiere Elements 4.0 in conjunction with Photoshop.

Here is a recent video with still imagery in it that we had intended to run in a bigger video player but kept small because some of the stills (not all) were pixelated and a mess at the large size:

http://www.wvgazettemail.com/News/201003190683

And here is a video I did, in which some of the stills looked fine and others (including the closeup of the older woman applying makeup early on) are pixelated to a fair-thee-well:

http://www.wvgazettemail.com/Life/201002240544

Here's the deal: our photographer gave use 14 stills and changed them in Photoshop to about 600-700 pixels wide at a resolution of 72 dpi. Oddly, 11 of the photos turned out pixelated in the finished product, and 3 were OK. But a few other still photos shot with a separate Canon G10 at about 1100 pixels wide turned out fine. When the problem surfaced, we tried having the photographer give us his files instead as 1,000 pixels wide at 150 dpi. And as .psd files instead of jpgs. No go, still fuzzy pixelation.

After finishing our videos, here is our workflow:

1. Export the video to the desktop as a huge-file size DV avi file.