4 Replies Latest reply on Mar 23, 2010 4:48 PM by 60HzProductions

Workflow suggestions for CS4, Sony XR520 (HD) & TRV18 (SD-MiniDV)?

60HzProductions

Hello all,

I'm working on my first video "production" in a long while, and it's my first time delving into the world of HD and mixed formats. So I'm feeling a bit like a fish out of water.

This is the workflow I was USED to:

1. Connect camera to computer via FireWire(MiniDV-SD-60i)
      2. Launch Premiere 6.5
      3. Use Capture Utility to set In/Out points and bring in as AVI clips
      4. Import those AVI clips into bins and edit directly
      5. Save Timeline out to AVI
      6. Encode to final output format
      SO, this is the situation I'm faced with now:

Two cameras. Main camera is Sony HDR-XR520 (AVCHD-1080i). Second camera is Sony DCR-TRV18 (DV - MiniDV - 30fps Interlaced - 60i?) for time lapse shots/filler shots.

My final output is going to be computer/internet playback (I'm assuming I'm going to need to output to a progressive format, 24P or 30P. Am I right on this?)

Any suggestion as to what my workflow needs to be?

My assumptions:

1. Edit using a 1080i30 (60i) timeline(sequence)
      2. Edit XR520 clips directly
      3. Import TRV18 as avi clips, put in timeline, but only use clips to fill 1/4 of the HD frame (don't try to up res)
      4. Export to AVI, encode to mpeg4 and remove interlace.
      Am I going in the right direction here, or am I all wrong on this?

• 1. Re: Workflow suggestions for CS4, Sony XR520 (HD) & TRV18 (SD-MiniDV)?
          Harm Millaard Level 7

Looks good if you plan to output to 1920 x 1080. Otherwise you may consider downrezzing the AVCHD footage and giving you more space for the SD footage without uprezzing. So you may consider 1280 x 720 format, with the consequence that your SD material does not not appear in postage stamp format. Keep in mind the PAR's of the different footage.

1 person found this helpful