29 Replies Latest reply on Mar 30, 2010 9:04 AM by david pro

Converting .mov to DVD in Adobe Media Encoder

david pro Level 1

Hi there.

I didn't see a category just for Adobe Media Encoder, so I think this one is closest.

I have a video file that I edited in Final Cut Express and exported and a Quicktime Movie, so the settings are the same as the original footage, which is HD 16:9.

The video is about 50 minutes long and 14GB. When I export it into iDVD and burn it onto a DVD the quality is very poor.

Is there a better way to convert the .mov to a DVD format and then burn it? I have Adobe Media Encoder but can't figure out how to set the settings... I don't see any way of adjusting the bitrate when I choose to convert from .mov to MPEG-2 DVD.

I'm kinda new to this and would appreciate the help.

Thanks,

David

• 1. Re: Converting .mov to DVD in Adobe Media Encoder
          JaysonM-Y Level 3

you selected MPEG2-DVD as the format, now under 'Preset' drop down the menu and hit 'Edit Export Settings'

I got some good links to authoring dvds.... now if i can remember where I put them...... nope, not there.... only lint.....

stay tuned for more info.

1 person found this helpful
          • 2. Re: Converting .mov to DVD in Adobe Media Encoder
            the_wine_snob Level 9

David,

One of the problems that you're going to have is the down-rezing from HD to SD. You might want to rethink the workflow for the highest quality down-rezing. See Jeff Bellune's HD to SD tutorial. Might be some good tips in it.

One conversion program that I have used, though not for this workflow is Apple's QT Pro, and let it do the down-rezing to DV-AVI, or MPEG-2.

Which authoring program are you planning to use? If Encore, then I'd go with the DV-AVI and let Encore do the Transcoding automatically.

Good luck,

Hunt

1 person found this helpful
            • 3. Re: Converting .mov to DVD in Adobe Media Encoder
              david pro Level 1