4 Replies Latest reply on Mar 29, 2010 9:08 AM by JossHarris

Data Merge help (cs3) (JS)

JossHarris

Hi,

I am a total beginner at scripting and am trying to write a script for a data merge job. The job requires that after the merge is complete, a new page based on 'C-Master' needs to be added after every page of the job. It is a merge for carrier sheets and the 'C-Master' is an advert page that is required to print on the reverse of each page. I have written the script to add the same amount of pages as the job (based on 'C-Master') but i cannot figure out a way of moving them in between the pages of the job (they are all added at the end of the job). Any help would be much appreciated. Here is the code i have written so far.

var myPages = app.activeDocument.pages.length
      var ad = app.activeDocument
      for (var i = 0; i < myPages; i ++ )
      {
      ad.pages.add()
      ad.pages[myPages].appliedMaster=
      ad.masterSpreads.item('C-Master')
      }

thanks

Joss

• 1. Re: Data Merge help (cs3) (JS)
          [Jongware] Most Valuable Participant

Change the ad.pages.add() line -- add an "at" parameters and a reference to the page where you want to add it relative to:

Page add ([at: LocationOptions=LocationOptions.UNKNOWN][, reference: {Page | Spread | MasterSpread | Document} ][, withProperties: Object])
          Creates a new page.

ParameterTypeDescription
          atLocationOptions:
          LocationOptions.BEFORE
          LocationOptions.AFTER
          LocationOptions.AT_END
          LocationOptions.AT_BEGINNING
          LocationOptions.UNKNOWN
          The location of the new page relative to the reference object or within the document or spread. (Optional) (default: LocationOptions.UNKNOWN) (Optional)
          referencePage
          Spread
          MasterSpread
          Document