5 Replies Latest reply on Oct 15, 2010 9:19 AM by Josh68

Help with calculated field displaying/notdisplaying zero

neodiem

Hi all,

I am working on a few forms that have a fields that get totaled and the total is displayed.

The problem I am running into is that is I use the standard built-in calculation script the 0 is always displayed.

I tried to use a custom calculation field, using.

var v1 = +getField("ss_1").value;

var v2 = +getField("ss_2").value;

var v3 = +getField("ss_3").value;

var v4 = +getField("ss_4").value;

var v5 = +getField("ss_5").value;

var sum = v1 + v2 + v3 + v4 +v5;

if (sum!==0) {

event.value = sum;

} else {

event.value = "";

}

The problem I ran into is that if all variables where legitimately Zeros the calculated field would still not display the zero.

Finally I wanted to try putting the code in to the v1 field as a on blur action to make the calulated field visible, but I am not sure what to use as the value.

I am not a programmer, just a designer who is trying to learn.  any help is much appreciated.

Thanks

• 1. Re: Help with calculated field displaying/notdisplaying zero
          try67 MVP & Adobe Community Professional

Use != instead of !==

• 2. Re: Help with calculated field displaying/not displaying zero
            gkaiseril MVP & Adobe Community Professional

It appears you want the 0 total to be suppressed only when all the fields to be summed are empty strings.