6 Replies Latest reply on Apr 3, 2010 4:25 AM by tingvar

Cannot insert second lib item on same page (DW CS3)

tingvar

Hi, I am asked to build a website with 53 pages. My client, most likely, will come up with changes/desired extra pages in future, so I thought library items would be appropriate for navigation (correct? I am new to lib).

After inserting one library item (vertical menu with roll-over images) in a page, I also want to use this type of nav horizontally at the top of the pages.

However, DW (cs3) does not allow me to do so. This is the message: "Making this change would require changing code that is locked by a template or a translator. The change will be discarded."  The parent page is not a template, just an ordinary new html page. I inserted the vertical nav lib into a div.

I understood it should be possible to insert more than one lib item in a page, what can be the problem here?

Thank you very much for any tips, suggestions and help.

• 1. Re: Cannot insert second lib item on same page (DW CS3)
          martincou Level 3

Just to let you know that once you've update a Library Item in your site, you'll need to upload all files related to this Library Item to your server. If you forget to upload them, your users won't see any changes.

Instead of Library Items, you could use Server Side Includes. Your web server must accept those kind of files though.

For your particular issue, are you trying to add a Library Item in code view ?

• 2. Re: Cannot insert second lib item on same page (DW CS3)
            tingvar Level 1

Hi Martyn, thanks for your reply. I work in Split view, and tried to insert the lib item by using the Assets tab in the lower right corner (where all the files are listed and also the Assets and Snippets Tab). I put the cursor where I wanted to insert the lib item, selected the item in that Assets area, and clicked on the insert button at the bottom.