1 Reply Latest reply on Sep 8, 2007 11:07 AM by Ansury

Dissolve image and textarea?

Sterol
      Hi!

I'm currently working on a small Flex-application that rotates ads on a web page. The concept is simple: an image is dissolved, followed by dissolving text on top of the image.

I have no problem with the image but when I try to dissolve the text, the underlying image is also dissolved.

Anyone know what I'm doing wrong or how I should go about making the ad-rotator work as intended?

I'm a newbie on this, but I send along some of the MXML-code I have:

<mx:states>
      <mx:State name="RotatingState"/>
      </mx:states>

<mx:transitions>
      <mx:Transition fromState="" toState="RotatingState">
      <mx:Sequence>
      <mx:Dissolve target="{ImageCanvas}" alphaFrom="0.0" alphaTo="1.0" duration="3000"/>
      <mx:Dissolve target="{QuestionTextArea}" alphaFrom="0.0" alphaTo="1.0" duration="3000"/>
      </mx:Sequence>
      </mx:Transition>
      </mx:transitions>

<mx:Canvas width="100%" height="100%">
      <mx:Canvas id="ImageCanvas" width="100%" height="100%">
      <mx:Image id="CampaignImage" width="140" height="240" x="0" y="0" source="1.jpg"/>
      </mx:Canvas>
      <mx:Canvas id="QuestionCanvas" width="100%" height="100%">
      <mx:TextArea id="QuestionTextArea" width="140" height="240" x="0" y="0" borderStyle="none" backgroundAlpha="0.0"
      wordWrap="true" text="Question text goes here!"/>

I'd be grateful if someone could shed some light on this!

//Marcus

• 1. Re: Dissolve image and textarea?
          Ansury Level 3
          I think it's because you're setting the TextArea non-transparent at one point, and it is being displayed "on top" of the picture, overwriting it. If you move the text area over a little (set it's x value to 220 or something), you'll probably see what I mean (if the *overall* background color of your app is not white, because the TextArea's background color is white...)