7 Replies Latest reply on Apr 9, 2010 12:16 PM by the_wine_snob

Help with Blu Ray burning requested

GoodBoySteve Level 1

I've been using PRE for many years now very succesfully with no significant problems until I entered the world of HD and Blu Ray. My system specs are at the bottom of this post.  I've been recording HD for some years now on my Sony HDV camcorder and rewriting the final production back onto HDV tapes.  I recently decided to move up and get myself a blu ray writer now that burners and media have become affordable (well relatively) . . . and the beginning of all my problems.

Normally I create 10 minute final productions from about an hour of footage; however, after a 3-week trip to China, I've created a 50 minute production from which I want to create a Blu Ray disk.  The production contains quite a lot of transitions, titles and still images (taken with 10 Megapixel camera).

I can render the project OK although it does take quite a few hours.  However, my system crashes (Blue Screen) at about 85% of the way through the Blu Ray encoding process.  I've split the project into 2 seperate projects - one of 20 minutes and one of 30 minutes.  The 20 minute one burns to Bly Ray ok but the 30 minute project still crashes (Blue Screen again) towards the end.  One obvious solution would be to split the project down in to 3 seperate projects and burn to 3 Blu Ray disks but this kind of ruins the point of having a Blu Ray writer as I could have created 3 AVCHD DVD disks instead.

The problem seems to be lack of memory.  The encoding process seems to work in the 1 - 2 GB space until very near the end when the memory requirement seems to soar up to 4 GB limit.  My suspicion is that Premiere is trying to use all the system memory and tramples over the system needs hence causing the whole system to Blue Screen.