14 Replies Latest reply on Apr 6, 2010 11:38 AM by the_wine_snob

Best format for rendering..

Positive Future Level 1
      I've sorted out my EQ problems and am now near the end of the first stage of my project. I'll soon have some previews up... I appreciate the help I've been given here. I was a complete and utter novice last November.
      1) If file size is not an issue, what is the best format to render in if I want my film to look and sound as good as possible? I want no quality degredation if possible.
      2) Is there any point using Lagarith lossless or is AVI OK?
      3) Are there any formats that add a bit of natural EQ to the sound? Some wav to mp3 programs seem to improve the sound a bit.
      4) I'm using Elements 3.0- is there anything else I can do to make my film render as sharply as possible? I want to spare no effort, so any tips appreciated.
      Sorry if these are basic questions but Hunt always seems to come up with things that aren't in the FAQs and guides...
      Thanks
        • 1. Re: Best format for rendering..
          Steve Grisetti Adobe Community Professional

There's no value in saving to an uncompressed format, since your original footage was compressed to some degree. But, particularly if your original footage was from a miniDV or HDV camcorder, Premiere Elements should render your output at virtually identical quality.

That said, what you output it as depends on what you plan to do with it and where you plan to play your video.

For re-use in another project, DV-AVI is the ideal format.

For re-use in a hi-def project, the 1440x1080 MPEG is your best choice.

And, for playing on a DVD player -- well, a DVD, of course!

• 2. Re: Best format for rendering..
            Positive Future Level 1