1 Reply Latest reply on Apr 6, 2010 9:08 AM by Ned Murphy

: Error #1009:

hullaballooooo

Hi everyone,

I am new to Flash and am having a problem - I am creating a little mini site for the web. The buttons within the movie work fine but when I create a button from a graphic, and try to tell this to link to an external website and open in a new window I am getting : Error #1009: Cannot access a property or method of a null object reference, in the Output and when I click on the button nothing happens. I have found lots on the web about this error but nothing that i can understand enough to fix the problem. I just want to make a button from a graphic and link to somewhere - the code I am using for the buttons is:

vim_btn.addEventListener(MouseEvent.CLICK, vim);
      function vim(event:MouseEvent){
      navigateToURL(new URLRequest("http://www.vimeo.com/"));
      }

I have this code attached to a key frame .....

what does this error mean and why can't I do this seemingly simple thing?

any ideas will be hugely appreciated ...

thanks,

Hulla

• 1. Re: : Error #1009:
          Ned Murphy Adobe Community Professional & MVP

Two things... one is to use a movieclip for the button (with the graphic in it) rather than a button symbol.

The 1009 error indicates that one of the objects being targeted by your code is out of scope, likely the vim_btn.  While this could be a bug related to converting symbols into button symbols, this could also mean that the object....

- is not in the display list
          - doesn't have an instance name (or the instance name is mispelled)
          - does not exist in the frame where that code is trying to talk to it
          - is animated into place but is not assigned instance names in every keyframe for it
          - is one of two or more consecutive keyframes of the same objects with different names assigned.