3 Replies Latest reply on Apr 7, 2010 2:55 AM by David_F57

Simple mysql table row update

Clown_shoes

Hi all,

I am new to flex. Literally days into this. I have followed an example from the flex 3 bible and created a Flex applciation calling an AMFPHP service. I got the hello world to appear and was pretty chuffed with that. (code used is below)

I have been asked to use some php code that I used to successfully add a row to my database. Apparently this is easy but I'm not getting it.

All I want to do in this instance is add one row of data to my table. I guess I would just insert my php code in as a statement somewhere right?

The table is on a server

---------

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
      <mx:Application xmlns:mx="http://www.adobe.com/2006/mxml">
          <mx:RemoteObject id="phpService"
          destination="amfphp"
          source="MyClass. HelloWorld"/>
          <mx:Button label="Say Hello" click="phpService.sayHello()"/>
          <mx:Label text="{phpService.sayHello.lastResult}"/>
      </mx:Application>

-------

Below: Is this the right bit of code that would update?

var sql:String =
          "INSERT INTO mytable (Row1, Row2, Row3 , Row4, Row5, Row6, Row7, Row8, Row9 , Row10) " +
          "VALUES ('Data1', 'Data2',  'Data3', 'Data4', 'Data5', 'Data6', 'Data7', 'Data8', 'Data9', 'Data10')";
      insertStmt.text  = sql;

I really am confused by all this.

Thanks in advance for any help

• 1. Re: Simple mysql table row update
          Matt Le Fevre Level 4

your PHP query string looks sound, doesn't look like there would be any problems there.

my experience with AMFPHP is non-existant, but i'd guess PHP knowledge that your query simply isn't being sent to the database somehow.

Cut your code down so it's just trying to insert one item, get that working and go from there. Maybe look around on google for a working 'amfphp insert example' and compare what you have to that.

I have a working flex/php example here: