7 Replies Latest reply on Apr 8, 2010 5:10 AM by [Jongware]

FindChangeByList bug?

emspaces

Hello,

I'm using grep searches in the FindChangeByList script and this one line doesn't seem to work for some reason :

grep {findWhat:"(?<=\w)[!?;»%$¢°]"} {changeTo:"~<$0"}

But if I copy paste the info in the normal Grep Find / Change dialog, it works.

I'm trying to find any !?;»%$¢° characters preceded by a letter or a number and add a thin space before it.

{findWhat:"\s(?=[!?;»%$¢°])"} {changeTo:"~<"}

I use this line to change any existing space preceding those signs and convert it to a thin space and it works.

Any ideas? Are there differences in the way I should type my expressions in the find/change grep dialog vs. adding them to the FindChangeByList script? Or maybe the way I typed my expressions is not efficient, I'm quite new to this!

Thank you for your time,

Emilie

• 1. Re: FindChangeByList bug?
          Kasyan Servetsky Level 5

Check out Martin Fisher's Record Find Change script.

Kasyan

1 person found this helpful
          • 2. Re: FindChangeByList bug?
            emspaces Level 1

Oh! It's working now thank you... it changed from this :

grep {findWhat:"(?<=\w)[!?;»%$¢°]"} {changeTo:"~<$0"}

grep {findWhat:"(?<=\\w)[!?;»%$¢°]"} {changeTo:"~<$0"}

So it added a  \ before \w... But are you supposed to escape wildcards? I thought this only applied to characters like brackets and such?

Emilie

• 3. Re: FindChangeByList bug?
              [Jongware] Most Valuable Participant

No (and yes), but remember this is not entered 'straight into indesign'. It's going to end up inside a script -- and the backslash is also a special character in Javascript. What you entered is not an "InDesign GREP expression", but rather a Javascript string that ought to be inspected and executed by a command in another program (that would be InDesign, in this case).