10 Replies Latest reply on Apr 9, 2010 3:20 PM by the_wine_snob

Problems adding music

Freebs120

Im pretty new to using Premiere to edit, I have Premiere Pro CS4. My problem is, when i add background music into my project, it gets rid of the audio from the video clips already in the project. How do i stop that from happening?

• 1. Re: Problems adding music
          kishoreda-RrOFau Level 1

Just drag and drop the new background music into a empty audio track , simple as that

And if you wanna delete the 1st audio track, right click on the video track and select "Unlink" then select the 1st audio track and hit delete.

• 2. Re: Problems adding music
            the_wine_snob Level 9

As has been mentioned, just Target the new destination Audio Track and drag the Asset to that. If you are having any issues, just Lock the AV's Audio Track.

Note: PrPro will NOT allow one to place Audio Assets onto an Audio Track, that does not match the file's channel-number, i.e. a mono (1-channel) Asset will ONLY go to a mono Audio Track. If you do not have such an Audio Track, drag to the Master, and PrPro will kindly create the proper Audio Track for your Asset.

Good luck,

Hunt

1 person found this helpful
            • 3. Re: Problems adding music
              Freebs120 Level 1

I'm really new to editing, and really new to Premiere, so to be compeletely honest I'm not really sure what your saying. I have the audio track, I have my clips in the video 1 slot. I put the audio track into the audio 1 slot, and the audio from the clips in video 1 is no longer there. Im a little confused about what you told me to do.

• 4. Re: Problems adding music
                the_wine_snob Level 9

If you are not seeing Audio Track 1, it will possibly need to be scrolled.