7 Replies Latest reply on Apr 21, 2010 6:58 AM by kglad

A Simple Number Countdown

JMillsPaysBills

Hello all.

This is my first time posting on the Adobe Forums, but I can tell you, this community has been a huge help over the years! I finally found a problem that I couldn't find the answer to by searching online, and I hope someone with some more AS2 knowledge than me can help me with it.

Basically, what I'm looking to do is have a count from one number to another number over the course of 20 or 30 frames. I guess that's not important.

The effect that I'm trying to achieve is this:

I have a map animation, that I need to start at a specified date. Let's say 1900, then cycle through to 2000, then 2050, then 2100.

So I have four stages of this movie.

I thought it would be easy to find something like this online, but I haven't found it anywhere. I was guessing it would have to be some kind of for loop, but to be honest, my knowledge of coding isn't that great, and it's not something I could write from scratch.

Does anyone have any links or references they could help me with? Maybe a nudge in the right direction? Am I completely wrong in assuming it would be a for loop?

I'd like the ability to change the dates somewhere, possibly a variable.

Has anyone seen something like this before?

• 1. Re: A Simple Number Countdown
          kglad Adobe Community Professional & MVP

for-loops and while-loops execute from beginning to end before anything is updated on-stage.  so, they can't be used to display changing values.

you want to use an enterframe or setInterval() loop.

this sounds so simple, you can probably get a complete answer here.  what exactly do you want to display on stage?  every integer between a start number and end number at certain time intervals

1 person found this helpful
          • 2. Re: A Simple Number Countdown
            JMillsPaysBills Level 1

Hi. Thanks for your quick reply.