3 Replies Latest reply on Jul 25, 2010 5:35 PM by ad...

Dreamweaver CS4 - emailing a submitted Form

Roy Marnewick

I am a novice at websites - and moreso with Dreamweaver!

I have finally designed a simple form with a SUBMIT button. I am trying to have the user submit the form to my email address. In the "Action" box, I have entered the following :  mailto:info@ozonesystems.co.uk .

On hitting the SUBMIT button, Outlook Express opens and opens a "New Message" - with no sign of the Form!

Please help !!

Roy  

• 1. Re: Dreamweaver CS4 - emailing a submitted Form
          pziecina Level 6

Hi

This is the standard behaviour of forms that do not have a processing script as the action.

In order to have the form automatically send the form info to your e-mail account you will have to have a server side language, (php, asp, asp.net) enabled on your server. It may be worth contacting your server provider as they may have a processing script available, (cgi if no server side language available).

Tutorial on using/creating a php contact form with processing script - http://dreamweaverspot.com/adobe-dreamweaver-tutorial-contact-forms/.

PZ

www.pziecina.com

• 2. Re: Dreamweaver CS4 - emailing a submitted Form
            mhollis55 Level 4

As you have discovered, "mailto" is a command that opens the default email application on your computer.

The way to get someone to fill out a form to send mail to your email account is to use server-side code. Server-side code is read by your host server and interpreted. Your host server will be able to interpret ASP or ASP.NET code (if it's a Microsoft server), Adobe's Cold Fusion (if it has that installed) and/or php, which is Open Source. Most hosting servers provide you with php.