12 Replies Latest reply on Jun 8, 2011 9:17 PM by jrakman

ppixHandleUtilities.cpp_114

mynameisnikolaas

Hello everyone,

I usually edit in Windows Movie Maker - I find it easy to use, full of features and easy to manipulate to create mini-films.

I'm no Peter Jackson but I am really getting into film making. I am a teacher and I offered to edit (for my sins) a short film for my pupils with lots of HD Quicktime clips shot using a simple Canon camera. I tried to import them into WMM but it would not let me so I have had to learn and use Premiere Pro CS3 for the first time. I've edited the footage (which taken a LONG time), coloured it, layered music etc etc but I cannot FINISH THE PROCESS OFF!! It renders up to around 23% and then a window shows the following:

"Premiere Pro has encountered an error.

(..\..\src\ppixHandleUtilities.cpp-114."

I press okay and then it shows:

"Application failed to return a video frame. Cancelling the operation".

Any ideas - it's driving me up the wall! I can assume that I have a bad video clip in there somewhere - is there a cleansing process I could do?

A frustrated first-time PP CS3 user....

Thanks,

Nick

• 1. Re: ppixHandleUtilities.cpp_114
          the_wine_snob Level 9

Nick,

The "Failed to Return a Video Frame" is most often related to there being a gap in your Video somewhere. With that 23% point in mind, I'd calculate the approximate Frame and look very carefully around there. Even a single one Frame gap can bring a Project to its knees.

Good luck, and let us know if you find the gap - remember - look very carefully.

Hunt

1 person found this helpful
          • 2. Re: ppixHandleUtilities.cpp_114
            Harm Millaard Level 7

What camera, what sequence setting, what codec, what version, what hardware, what OS, etc.

Some suggestions... and answer at least the 16 questions at the end of the Wiki article.

• 3. Re: ppixHandleUtilities.cpp_114
              Ann Bens Adobe Community Professional & MVP