6 Replies Latest reply on Apr 12, 2010 9:00 AM by dazz3r

Need conceptual help for a simple drag n drop game

dazz3r

As anyone who saw my previous thread knows, I'm trying to make an educational app prototype (I'm new to Flash, this is for a Masters in education) to help students learn IPA symbols (phonetics). I have successfully made a section where the students click on symbols to hear the corresponding audio and listen to explanations.

For the final part of the prototype, I have to create some kind of instructional game. My idea is to have 12 circles, each one playing an audio file of a vowel sound (this I know how to do). The students will have to click the circles to listen and then drag and drop them to the correct IPA symbol. Flash would then give feedback on correct/incorrect answers and a score. Maybe all of this is against the clock, needing a timer.

So, I need to learn drag and drop. What else to I need to learn so that one drop position is considered "correct", the others are considered "incorrect" and a score is given at the end? And maybe a timer?)

Any conceptual help gratefully received!!

Darren

• 1. Re: Need conceptual help for a simple drag n drop game
          Ned Murphy Adobe Community Professional & MVP

Your best bet (and friend) when it comes to finding lessons on Flash is Google.  Try searching it for "AS3 drag and drop tutorial" and similar terminology.  I am sure folks have lessons waiting for you to learn.  As far as a timer goes, look into the help documents for the getTimer() function.  You can use it to mark a start time and a finish time, which you can in turn use to calculate the game time.

• 2. Re: Need conceptual help for a simple drag n drop game
            dazz3r Level 1

Cheers for the reply.