17 Replies Latest reply on Apr 26, 2010 5:42 AM by Biker38

Print margin problem with PM 7.0

Biker38 Level 1

Hi--I am a newbie to the forum and having a printing problem with a booklet. I'm running Vista 64 and my printer is an HP Model 390a. (Had no problem with an HP 2600 series in XP.) My book is a list of Club members, three columns, name, phone and e-mail address, with two pages occupying an 8.5 x 11-inch page, and with half-inch margins a line is 4-1/2 inches wide. Everything looks good in the Imposed section of the program--half-inch margins and 4-1/2" writing line for both odd and even pages. However, the printing results on an odd page is a 4-inch print line with a half-inch margin on the left and almost an inch on the right. An even numbered page will have opposite margins of an inch on the left side and half-inch on the right.

I don't know why the writing line is only 4 inches. The same 4-inch writing line is present in the document before Imposing. I have assumed that the problem is with the printer but don't know how to set it up to utilize the full page margins.

Thanks for any help out there.

• 1. Re: Print margin problem with PM 7.0
          BigJohnD Level 3

PM isn't supported on any version of Vista, so it's not surprising there's problems with some printer drivers.

You could try creating a PDF from your PM publication and print that instead, but there's no guarantees.

If you're going to continue to use PM7, install it a Win2K or WinXP SP2 system.

But for the longer term, move onto InDesign.

• 2. Re: Print margin problem with PM 7.0
            Mr. Zyx9uter4 Level 1

Sorry I cannot be of help to you in your 'print margin problem with PM 7.0.   But I've encountered a similar problem with PM7..