16 Replies Latest reply on Apr 13, 2010 4:15 PM by nealeh

AVI File Captured in Premiere Elements 8 Only Plays First Few Minutes

toppops

Hello folks,

I'm totally new to this.  My problem: I've recently installed Premiere Elements 8 and used it to capture some mini DV video tapes (via firewire), without any significant problems (other than a few freezes).  Now I've tried to capture some VHSC tapes via my TV card (Avermedia H727). The capture process went well (except that the preview screen was just a fuzzy mess!) but I had to plug the audio inputs into my sound card (onboard) rather than the TV card.

The caputred files are about 6 + Gb for a 30 minute tape but when playing the captured video back in PrE8 only the first few minutes is available (the length of playback seems to vary unpredictably (1 tape allowed 3 minutes of playback, another a bit less).   The full avi files can be played back in Roxio or Windows Media Player etc but not PrE8.

Interestingly, videos captured from VHSC via the same TV card in Roxio 2010 Pro will play back correctly and fully in PrE8.   I had to switch audio inputs to the TV card (rather than the soundcard) for the audio to be captured with Roxio.

My son has tried to help me with this (having some experience on PrE2) but he's also drawn a blank with this.

I'd be very grateful for any help that you might be able to give as I've not found anything in FAQ although it's not easy to succintly define my search for this problem.

Many thanks

Computer spec:

OS     Windows 7 Pro 64 bit

CPU     Intel i7 2.8GHz

RAM     4Gb DDR3

MB     Asus P7P55D Deluxe

HDD     2x Sata II Western Digital 1.5Tb (each)

Graphics     ATI Radeon HD 4300/4500 series

All updates for Windows 7 and PrE8 installed

• 1. Re: AVI File Captured in Premiere Elements 8 Only Plays First Few Minutes
          John T Smith Adobe Community Professional & MVP

This is aimed at Premiere Pro, but may help