11 Replies Latest reply on Apr 13, 2010 6:39 PM by David_F57

Flex and MySQL via PHP!

playwiz

Hey guys!  I'm working on a project for class and decided to try Flex.  I have some data stored in MySQL that I'm retrieving with PHP.  Then, PHP converts the data into XML format to be used in Flex.  However, I'm wondering if it would be generally much easier to just use data services and have PHP send the data as strings?

I'm building a schedule builder.  I have all the courses, location, time, and instructor in the database.  One problem I am encountering right now (mind you, I'm very new to Flex) is that I am unable to turn an ArrayCollection (or part of it) into a new Array for use in populating my datagrid.

All suggestions are welcomed.  Thanks!

• 1. Re: Flex and MySQL via PHP!
          David_F57 Level 5

Hi,

If you are using flashbuilder, its all done for your using zendphp. The data wizard will access your mysql database and create the required php for the backend and the vo's(value objects) for the flex front end.

There are several tutorials around, if you go to AdobeTV you'll find something there.

David.

1 person found this helpful
          • 2. Re: Flex and MySQL via PHP!
            playwiz Level 1

Thanks for the reply, David.  I had no idea about ZendPHP and Flash Builder.  I will upgrade to Flash Builder from Flex Builder 3.

However, this is not a project I'm working on alone.  The objective of the project is to work with two others; there is a front-end, back-end, and middle. I'm doing the front-end.  The middle is retrieving info from the back-end person (who in turn is using scripts to scrape data into the database).  We are supposed to communicate via functions and stuff.  I cannot bypass the middle guy.  I have to let him handle the requests to the database while I display the results.

My question really is:  what is the easiest way for me to retrieve data from MySQL through PHP-- XML format or strings sent via PHP functions to Flex?