14 Replies Latest reply on Apr 13, 2010 7:53 AM by the_wine_snob

Preview not Playing Properly

kmcnet

Hello everyone and thanks for your help in advance.  I am new to Premiere CS4 and am just learning to edit video with it.  After importing a few clips and dragging them to the timeline, I try to play a preview.  However, when doing so, the picture freezes in spots, while the audio plays mostly fine.  Because of this, editing becomes very difficult.  I have tried closing all other applications and even rebooted the machine in the event it is a memory issue. While not the latest and greatest laptop, it has 2 GHZ Pentium, 2 GB of RAM and 320 GB SATA drive so it think the harware is sufficient.  Any help on this problem would be greatly appreciated.

• 1. Re: Preview not Playing Properly
          shooternz Level 6

Your hardware and system is not up to it at many levels.

• 2. Re: Preview not Playing Properly
            the_wine_snob Level 9

This is probably an issue with your source footage. Can you give us the complete specs of that footage?

Next, it could be your Project/Sequence Preset. What are the settings there?

Last, it could be your system. Can you furnish the complete details, especially the I/O sub-system?

This ARTICLE will give you some tips on the info that is necessary, and how to get much of it.

Good luck,

Hunt

• 3. Re: Preview not Playing Properly
              shooternz Level 6
              it has 2 GHZ Pentium, 2 GB of RAM and 320 GB SATA drive

and its a laptop!

• 4. Re: Preview not Playing Properly
                kmcnet Level 1

Since I am a NEWBIE, could you please be more specific on what I need?  My hardware meets the minimum specs, but obviously minimum specs don't work.  So what do I really need?

Hard drive is a 7200 RPM SATA inside the laptop.  320 GB total space with 100 GB free.  Defragmented today.  Paging file is 2046 MB.  Windows XP Pro SP2.

Importing HD video from Sony HDD camera.