6 Replies Latest reply on May 2, 2010 11:53 AM by toastieo

Browser "Back" arrows do not work with Flash buttons.

toastieo Level 1

Just can't seem to get around this problem...

I've made several flash buttons for use in my navigation bars. They work great but the "back" arrows on the browser are always grayed out. It doesn't seem to matter what kind of browser I use.

The site was made in Dreamweaver and the Flash buttons are imbedded within the pages. I posted the same question on the Dreamweaver forum and got some vague answers.

Is there some code I can put into my Flash buttons?

If you have an answer please be specific as I'm not an expert.

The site is fireonmcginnis.com

or just type "Fire on McGinnis" into a search engine.

-Toastieo

• 1. Re: Browser "Back" arrows do not work with Flash buttons.
          370H55V Level 4

Like Nancy O. said when this was asked in the Dreamweaver forum, using Flash buttons is terrible for search engines and for mobile web users. Search engines don't recognize the action scripted links from Flash buttons and therefore will not follow or index your site beyond the first page they hit. Anyone who accesses the page from a mobile phone, Blackberry, or PDA isn't going to even see the navigation buttons, rendering all but the first page they hit absolutely useless.

On top of that, it was answered in the previous post that all of your links are set to open a new window or tab (_blank). You need to edit the Action Script for your buttons so that they open in the same page as they are on (_self). Otherwise, when the new page opens there IS no previous page for a back arrow to point to. It IS the first page in the history for that tab or window (#1). There is no zero page so the back arrow will be greyed out.

1 person found this helpful
          • 2. Re: Browser "Back" arrows do not work with Flash buttons.
            dwew33

grr, sorry about this post, no way to delete the post... was just going to say what mac+win=me said