10 Replies Latest reply on Apr 18, 2010 11:28 AM by Dirty Jobs Guy

Poor quality on youtube

Dirty Jobs Guy

Hi,

I'm new to elements and would like to get some help from all of you. I do my recording with a Sony Mini DVD camcorder and transfer them into Photoshop. I purchased Elements Premiere to edit them, add music and create videos. My son recently had a project due for a Spanish class and I recorded it, edited it and posted it to youtube. The quality was terrible! I'm sure it was due to something I did in the saving process but I'm not sure what I could do different. The picture quality while editing the video wasn't all that great, but it is even worse when I watch it on youtube.

Any coaching would be great.

Thanks

• 1. Re: Poor quality on youtube
          the_wine_snob Level 9
          I do my recording with a Sony Mini DVD camcorder and transfer them into Photoshop.

This confuses me greatly. If you are shooting video, where does PS come into the workflow?

If you are shooting a mini DVD camera, are you doing a Project Preset for that footage?

Sorry to be so daft, but I am not following what you are doing, and why you are doing it.

Good luck,

Hunt

PS - welcome to the forum!

• 2. Re: Poor quality on youtube
            Dirty Jobs Guy Level 1

Hi Bill,

I purchased PS to edit and then share videos. I record them onto the mini DVD, then transfer them into PS Elements and, in this latest project, created a kind of mini movie. I think my process was correct in the editing faze, I'm just not sure that I saved it into the correct file/format or perhaps my initial transfer from the mini to the hardrive wasn't done in the best format. What is a project preset?

Thanks

Date: Tue, 13 Apr 2010 21:17:48 -0600

To: eadgrowe@q.com

Subject: Poor quality on youtube

I do my recording with a Sony Mini DVD camcorder and transfer them into Photoshop.

This confuses me greatly. If you are shooting video, where does PS come into the workflow?