4 Replies Latest reply on Sep 16, 2007 2:05 PM by alpeve

help with preloader

alpeve
      i have a created a simple preloader w/ a simple progress bar for my main swf. i'm using flash 8 and have attached the action script code that i used for it. when i test it online, as the the progress bar loads midway, the contents of my main swf also starts. my understanding is that the once the preloader reaches 100%, that is when the main swf starts. the second problem is once the main swf loads completely, everything works (buttons, links) except the popup menu that i have. when i rollover one of my buttons that reveal a popup menu w/ buttons, none of the buttons work. i click them and nothing happens. what am i doing wrong? does the fact that my main swf has 116 frames and my preloader swf has only 100 have anything to do with it?

i would totally appreciate some help as i am fairly new to flash, especially action script. thank you :)

• 1. Re: help with preloader
          Ardy15jan
          Did you actually tell the .swf file only to play when onLoadInit is dispatched or when preloader reaches 100% ?
          • 2. Re: help with preloader
            Level 7
            The only job that the preload functions control is the display of your
            progress bar. The loadClip() function starts the loading of the new
            clip. Your listener pays attention to the progress of the loading, and
            fires the appropriate functions to control the progress bar's display.

When you load in the new clip, it will do whatever you told it to do.
            The work of myListener is completely superfluous. You could remove all
            of the myListener functions and the new clip will load exactly the same way.

You'll need to look at the movieClip that you're loading in to see where
            the problems might be.
            --
            Rob

• 3. Re: help with preloader
              alpeve Level 1