17 Replies Latest reply on Apr 15, 2010 1:02 PM by the_wine_snob

cs3- exporting dv ntsc widescreen-solution

Level 4

Hi

Im using CS3 with dv avi type 2 source material , 780x420 Interlaced, 29.97, 16:9 ( widescreen ). Video length is about 50 minutes.

I don't have Sorenson (can't afford now )...and am using CS3 to export to burn a DVD.  My impression has been, according to posts here, that CS3 is not the best way to export ...that using frameserver and Sorenson is better...

However, I am new to this and have a lot to learn about the compression used to export for DVD...and so I tried a couple things in CS3.

1) checked preset(s)... for mpeg2-dvd (format) , ntsc high quality preset.

In this case the quality is set by CS3 to 4, lower field first, aspect 4:3, vbr 2 pass, with 1.5, 4 , 7 as min, target, max bitrates.

In the preset for ntsc widescreen medium quality (there is no high quality widescreen preset)...everything is the same except it is vbr 1 pass. and aspect is set to 16:9.

I exported using ntsc high quality but changed quality to 5 from 4, min bitrate to 2 instead of 1.5...aspect to 16:9 from 4:3.

It looked horrible.  major horizontal lines throughout...sawtooth patterns, etc.

Harm Millaard suggested a calculator:

http://dvd-hq.info/bitrate_calculator.php

I put in my info and got the suggestion to use 8 mpps for bitrate, CBR...

Did that export....

Looks horrible !....  major horizontal lines, sawtooth patterns...

info from calculator:

-------------  calculator will suggest CBR in 2 circumstances instead of VBR 2 pass ---------