9 Replies Latest reply on Apr 21, 2010 2:13 AM by Yammer

Which of the camera Raw plug-in folders do I move out/in?

jckarbow

I have photoshop elements 8.0. I recently installed Camera Raw 5.6 update. The instructions say to move the existing Camera Raw.8bi plug in to another folder. Then move the new plug in into the existing folder which is Photoshop Elements 8.0:C\Program Files\Common Files\Adobe\Plug-Ins\Elements 8\File Formats\. My question is which files do I move out? Do I move all which are Filmstrip.8bi, PCX.8BI, Targa.8Bi & WBMP.8BI out of the folder? Also do I move all of the following into this same folder: Win64, Camera Raw8bi & Camera Profiles.exe?

• 1. Re: Which of the camera Raw plug-in folders do I move out/in?
          Yammer Level 4

Camera Raw is a single file called Camera Raw.8bi. To update it, they recommend you move out the existing plug-in file from wherever it lives on your file system to a 'safe place', and replace it with the new one. I've no experience of the 64-bit versions, but I'd guess that on 64-bit systems there are 32-bit and 64-bit versions already on your hard drive in obviously-named locations.

• 2. Re: Which of the camera Raw plug-in folders do I move out/in?
            jckarbow Level 1

I understand I have to move the Camera Raw.8bi out but in the folder they recommended I move it from which is listed in prior posting it doesn't specifically have that name in the file, Camera Raw.8bi, but the 5 I mentioned. Is it considered the whole folder(all 5)?

• 3. Re: Which of the camera Raw plug-in folders do I move out/in?
              Yammer Level 4

That is the correct location of the plug-in, so if it's not there already, it should be. You should have only one copy of Camera Raw.8bi in that folder. If it's already in a different folder then it shouldn't be, remove it. Ignore the other files you mention - just leave them where they are.