12 Replies Latest reply on Apr 17, 2010 7:44 AM by Steve Grisetti

Quality problems, help

Hydroshock357

I've been banging my head against the wall for several weeks now.  Expensive camera for me, Sony HDR-cx500v.  I'm new to digital video, but not new to PC's.

It looks as if I dont have enough computer to process AVCHD: Win XP SP3 media center, HP AMD 64x2Dual 4200 2.19GHz 960M RAM... only one HD though plenty of space.

I have down converted my videos, and also recorder samples at a lower rate but the video quality is ****, completely unacceptable even by cell phone video standards.

Here is a GSpot screen of one of my lower def videos that still plays choppy in PE.  Can someone clue me in to exactly what preset I should be starting with?  It is not clear to me from this compared to the preset settings the best match.  Also, there are several lower quality video settings on the camera, but I don't seem to be able to find what the exact spec's are.

Any other guidance is appreciated.

gspot.JPG

• 1. Re: Quality problems, help
          John T Smith Adobe Community Professional & MVP

>HP AMD 64x2Dual 4200 2.19GHz 960M RAM... only one HD

No, you do not have enough computer to effectively work with AVCHD files... not even SD files

AMD is not as good as Intel for video editing

You need 4 Gig of ram

You need AT LEAST 2 hard drives (2 drives, NOT partitions)

1st for Win and all software

2nd for all video and work files

optional 3rd for temporary scratch files

Increase your memory and add at least a 2nd internal hard drive and try again

• 2. Re: Quality problems, help
            Steve Grisetti Adobe Community Professional

Down-converting your files is a good idea --- but it looks like downconverted to MPEGs, which isn't the most effective way to go. That's why you're seeing a big reduction in quality.

What program are you using to down-convert and what settings are you using?

Do you have the ability with this program to down-convert to DV-AVIs?