22 Replies Latest reply on Apr 17, 2010 3:38 PM by pchinique

Question about credit/copyright.

pchinique Level 1

I'm not sure this is the right place to ask, but I'm not sure were else to go.

I have done a huge design in illustrator for a pattern of a zoo, all in vector. The design is almost done, but need some final touches. Now my client has a company who wants to buy his product with my design. The problem is this company wants to make changes in the design, using his own designers, before purchasing the final product. I'm not sure of the amount of changes they want to do, but I feel that I can't take credit for the design if it gets change a lot.

I'm just looking for some advice here. I've been designing for only 2 years and this is one of the biggest projects I had so far, so for me is a big deal to be able to add this to my portfolio and take credit for it. How other designers go with situations like this? Should I charge a fee to give my credit away? I am getting paid for the design though, but I would really like to keep credit for it too, after all that hard work....

Thanks a lot for your advice in advance.

• 1. Re: Question about credit/copyright.
          JETalmage-71mYin Level 3

I'm not a lawyer. The following is my opinion, based on some reading and alot of seat-of-the-pants experience.

In the terms of the sale you negotiate with your client, you can stipulate whatever the two of you can gain agreement on.

First, understand: no one here has seen the "design" in question. You have to decide whether the work you've done is truly an original work (essentially an illustration) and not just another common design. Many designers tend to think their work is worthy of copyright concern, when in fact it is nothing more than another basic layout like many others. One can argue that such a thing is original; but few would argue that it is something worthy of copyright worry from a practicality standpoint.