10 Replies Latest reply on Apr 17, 2010 1:45 PM by the_wine_snob

Audio Track Placement

DukefromTexas

I am unable to move audio files to a specific audio track, they all default to "Audio 5". I tried to "drag & drop" as well as using the "Ctrl" & "Alt" keys in conjunction with the drag & drop and I am still unable to move an audio file to a specific track. I am new to Premiere Pro CS4, but have used Premiere Elements 8 extensively.

Does anyone have any suggestions?

• 1. Re: Audio Track Placement
          the_wine_snob Level 9

Welcome to the forum Duke.

Unfortunately, you have posted to the PrElements (a different, albeit similar program to PrPro). I'll see if the MOD, Steve Grisetti can move this for you, so you will get more input for PrPro users.

Now, let's cover some Audio Track basics first. PrPro will ONLY allow certain Audio on certain Tracks. This is distinguished by the "channel-count." Hence, a 2-channel Audio Clip will ONLY go onto a 2-channel Audio Track; a 1-channel Audio Clip will ONLY go onto a 1-channel Audio Track; and a 5.1 Audio Clip will ONLY go onto a 5.1 Audio Track. There are little icons in the Audio Track Header, that will tell you what each is: 1 speaker for 1-channel, 2 speakers for 2-channel and a "5.1" for multi-channel Tracks. These are small, but if you know where to look, they can be easily seen:

Audio_Track_Headers_01.jpg