9 Replies Latest reply on May 16, 2010 10:18 AM by Harm Millaard

Cannot import VOB files

David8765

I am trying to import vob files from a dvd (not a store bought dvd - this is the disc my friend was given of his performances at a folk festival by the hired videographer) and I get the error message that the file format is not supported. I have never tried to do this before, but the documentation seems to say I should be able to import it. What could be the problem?

My objective is to edit a short promotional video of soundbites from the show, for youtube use, etc.

By the way, I am a total novice with this software, but I am an advanced computer user and adept with photoshop, and I have done similar editing projects using Windows Movie Maker. I am using Premiere Pro CS3, and my system is Vista Home Premium. If I cannot master the editing functions of Premier easily, I may revert to using Windows Movie Maker, but at minimum I must get the vob files converted to another format for starters, and I want to do that in Premier, and try my hand at the edits there too. I already did a conversion in a free program called Any Video Converter, but the synch was gradually lost toward the end of the video, so it was unusable - and I assume Premiere would not have that defect.

Thanks for any input.

• 1. Re: Cannot import VOB files
          shooternz Level 6

Try renaming files with an mpeg extension

otherwise..convert to an editable format.

(Latest version CS4 imports them evidently)

• 2. Re: Cannot import VOB files
            Missteach Level 1

I use Premiere Elements 4 for exactly this.  It works a treat.  Not sure if PE8  will do it because there have been so many issues with it since release.  Certainly, when PE8 came out it didn't work.  They might have fixed it by now.

If not, have a search around for PE4.

• 3. Re: Cannot import VOB files
              the_wine_snob Level 9