5 Replies Latest reply on Apr 26, 2010 9:02 AM by smat81

2 problems with Slicing and changing the color of a section

smat81

Hi Guys,

Pretty new to this Forum....

Here it goes i am new to Fireworks and have a project for college to do ...this is what i am trying to achieve please help!!

I am trying to create a rectangle image that i can use as the area for my main content, ie rectangle with a roundness of 20% the fill would be black, i would like to know how i can make this look like it is see through (so i can half see the background image) would this be its transparency or the opacity level ??? not sure.

next i would like to export this out and import this into dreamweaver, i know you use the slice tool but when i slice a roundness image and export it, it does not crop it as it should i can still see a white bit around the corners.....hope that makes sense!

then last thing how can i insert this into my main content div tag?

Sorry for the million and one Q's ... i am a member of  macPro video tutorial site and they dont have a tutorial for Fireworks.. is there a place i can look for

that has good beginner lessons for Fireworks, i know youtube is good but can be confusing at times and messy.

thanks in advance for your help...

• 1. Re: 2 problems with Slicing and changing the color of a section
          Linda Nicholls Level 4

> I am trying to create a rectangle image that i can use as the area for my  main content, ie rectangle with a roundness of 20% the fill would be  black, i would like to know how i can make this look like it is see  through (so i can half see the background image) would this be its  transparency or the opacity level ??? not sure <

Reducing the opacity of the rectangle would be one way to create the effect you want.