12 Replies Latest reply on Apr 27, 2010 5:07 PM by FelixUnderwood

Well... Should I Upgrade From CS4?

Suntower Level 1

Hi,

I got CS4 about 18 months ago. I am not a video pro. I have made a few videos for popular music tunes to be shown on YouTube.

I have looked at the Adobe New Features blurb and it seems to have mostly new things for pros and not too many specifics on the things -I- was hoping for so I'm wondering if someone could clue me in on the following improvements:

1. More editing conveniences. For example, I found it -very- tedious to do things like copy titles and clips. I wrote back then:

"For example, in most DAWs you have a choice to make a 'ghost copy' vs. a 'real copy' in the timeline. ie. you can choose whether each clip is it's own 'footage' or if duplicating a clip simply creates a 2nd reference to the same parent 'footage'. Can one make a 'real' copy in PrPro in one step?"

2. I also was hoping for more key commands for various things.

3. I wonder if there are any new effects? (Sorry, but I'm all about eye candy)

4. Performance improvements? even if you -don't- have a 'Cuda'?

5. Improvements to Titles?

6. Ability to import MOD files -directly- from my Canon HD recorder?

7. Anything else?

TIA,

---JC

• 1. Re: Well... Should I Upgrade From CS4?
          shooternz Level 6

You shouldnt upgrade because you have not discovered the potential in the CS4 Suite yet.

Spend your money on some lame fx plugins instead for some instant gratification and maybe on some decent hardware if you have performance issues.

BTW - read up on sub clips and key board customisation and maybe spend a bit of time in AEFX if you need some advanced titling also..

1 person found this helpful
          • 2. Re: Well... Should I Upgrade From CS4?
            TradeWind Level 3

Hey JC,

I'll go down the line...

1. "More editing conveniences."