2 Replies Latest reply on Apr 22, 2010 6:28 AM by Ned Murphy

Three basic flash questions

user83248324

Hey guys,

I am pretty new to flash but I am kind of getting the hang of things. I am trying to create a interactive slideshow in flash that will not end up on the web. These are three quick questions I currently have. Thanks for any help you can provide

1. Let's say I have an icon of a person in my flash file, how can I make it so that when my moves rolls over the person a thinking bubble appears and when it rolls off the bubble disappears?

2. If I have a small image of a page version of a .pdf file in my flash file, how can I make it so that when the little .pdf page icon is click the .pdf file is launched?

3. I understand how to create a square button over text and mess with its up/down/over/click settings, but I am wondering how I can do something like change the color of the text when it is clicked or when the mouse is over it? Right now I only know how to change the color of the square button.

Thanks so much for any help you can provide with these basic questions.

• 1. Re: Three basic flash questions
          kglad Adobe Community Professional & MVP

1.   the easiest (but not the most extensible) way is to use the _visible or visible property to show and hide the bubble

2.  use getURL() or navigateToURL()

3.  put different colored text in your various button "frames".

1 person found this helpful
          • 2. Re: Three basic flash questions
            Ned Murphy Adobe Community Professional & MVP

1. If you understand what you say you do in your 3rd question, create this icon as a button and have the thinking bubble in the Over frame.

2.  You need to create the small image as a movieclip or button so that you can assign code to it.  The code you assign depends on whch version of actionscript your file will use, which you haven't mentioned.