5 Replies Latest reply on May 6, 2010 1:18 PM by [Jongware]

Convert numbers to words

4mary2me

I am extremely new to scripting and I am trying to use scripting to automate InDesign.

I need to convert a list of numbers to words,

I can convert each number one at a time in Excel or on a website, which is tedious...

I am working on a multi-book series where the design calls for the page number to appear as both a standard folio and the folio in English words along side it. Previously I have taken advantage of pre-written scripts to increase productivity and save time, which is addicting. I figured I can thread a series of text boxes to hold the list of number/words but I am determined not to have to type it all manually.

I have been attempting to adapt a script but I am getting frustrated, can anyone give me any advice on what needs to be done? I am not sure how to begin to tell the script to function on the selected numbers or the numbers contained within a particular text frame.

I appreciate any and all help!

Thanks so much!

• 1. Re: Convert numbers to words
          [Jongware] Most Valuable Participant

The stringFromNumber function in my script somewhere in this post Numbered list style: "One, two, three, four...  converts any number (in a reasonable range) to a string. Since it returns a string, you can immediately insert it into any frame, using something like "yourFrame.contents = stringFromNumber (123). This one is home-brewn, there are also other ways -- a quick google shows lots of hits.

(The initCap function is just a little helper, which you may want to use or not. It's only used in the final line of stringToNumber.)

As for 'grabbing a number to convert', you can do this

app.selection[0].contents = stringFromNumber (Number(app.selection[0].contents));

to immediately convert a selected number to text. (Go ahead -- copy the functions stringToNumber and initCap and add this line, then try it.)