3 Replies Latest reply on Apr 24, 2010 12:09 PM by blifnit

How can I get the best quality video on YouTube?

blifnit

I tried what you posted from another poster, Steve, but had a problem at step 2, the part in red.

2. Import this AVI file into Windows MovieMaker, place the file on MovieMaker's timeline and Publish (to your hard drive) a 
      WMV, dvd-quality (4:3 size) PAL 3,0 M.

When I click Publish, the only option I get is "YouTube" and "Get Add Ons".

Since the option I was told to take didn't exist, I clicked "save movie" and then "high definition 1080p".  Hey I'm just trying to figure this stuff out.  I'm new to it, so I picked the highest quality I could find.

Well, the result is a movie on YouTube that is OK, but nowhere near the quality of the movie on my computer. Just for fun, I uploaded the AVI file to YouTube from MovieMaker.  It was a huge file, it did upload, but the quality was still not there.

So, I return to my original question, which is almost the same as the originally posted question:

How should I save video with Premiere Elements to get the highest quality video to post to YouTube?  The videos were taken in AVCHD format, but after editing, I don't know the best rendering option to get the highest quality video when viewed on YouTube.  The videos look great on my computer, but on YouTube, the video is really degraded.

Thanks for any help!

I have an i7 processor, 8 gigs or RAM, and am running Windows 7 x64.  Video editing is with Premiere Elements and my video camera is a Canon HG10 that shoots AVCHD.

• 1. Re: How can I get the best quality video on YouTube?
          Steve Grisetti Adobe Community Professional

As we say in the FAQ, use Share/Personal Computer/DV-AVI to output an AVI and then use Windows MovieMaker to output a WMV from that rather than publishing directly to YouTube, then follow the rest of the instructions here:

http://forums.adobe.com/thread/623549

• 2. Re: How can I get the best quality video on YouTube?